2018 Badminton Ireland Schools Programme


Outline of the 2018 Schools Badminton Programme

Phase 1: Shuttle Time Course

Objective: Educate teachers by providing them with the skills and knowledge necessary to implement badminton as part of their PE curriculum.

Phase 2: Resources provided to schools

Objective: Provide schools/teachers with kitbags, lesson plans, and teaching resources for their school as a result of participating in the programme. 

Phase 3: Schools implement a 6 week badminton programme

Objective: The teacher's introduce a six week programme of activities into their PE classes with a view of preparing their students for the social blitz event at the end of the programme.

Phase 4: Mass participation social blitz event

Objective: To provide playing opportunities for all involved in the programme during a mass participation social blitz event. The aim is to showcase the physical and social benefits of the sport at a communal participation event.

Phase 5: Development of club-school Links 

Objective: To establish club-school links between local juvenile badminton clubs and participating schools to ensure there is an accessible pathway for all participants in the school programme into club badminton. 


If your school would be interested in taking part in this programme, please click the button below and register your interest.


2018 Cork Badminton Schools Programme

Badminton Ireland recently launched the 2018 Badminton Schools Programme, and selected Cork as the pilot region. In conjunction with Cork Sports Partnership, a Shuttle Time course was run in Bishopstown Community School in Cork City on the 14th March with their Social Blitz Day taking place on the 29th of March 2018 in Bishopstown Community School. The Badminton Schools Programme is being funded through Sport Ireland's Dormant Account Funding, and has support from Healthy Ireland, Active Ireland, and the Active Schools Flag.

Twelve schools were represented at this Shuttle Time course with twenty-one teachers attending, with the course being delivered by tutor Tony Robinson. The following schools participated in the first Badminton Schools Programme: Ballyhass National School, Bishopstown Community School, Bunscoil Rinn an Chablaigh, Clondrohid National School, Cork Educate Together National School, Firmount National School, Kilbonane National School, Presentation Secondary School, Scoil Iosagan Aghada, Scoil Phadraig Naofa, St. Lachteen's and Sunday's Well Girls National School. 

To successfully run a Badminton Schools Programme, the Local Sports Partnership (LSP) must play a pivotal role in the planning of the programme. Cork Sports Partnership played a very important role in the running of the Cork Badminton Schools Programme, they communicated and promoted the programme greatly which contributed to the success of the course. The Cork Sports Partnership also created a page on their website to promote the programme. 

Please click on the below links for articles produced by Badminton Ireland for the Cork Badminton Schools Programme.

Cork Badminton Schools Programme Shuttle Time Article

Cork Badminton Schools Programme Social Blitz Day Article


2018 Schools Programme Dublin



The 2018 Schools Programme Dublin is the second region chosen for the Schools Programme. The Shuttle Time Course took place on Thursday 29th November in Kinsealy, Dublin. The 15 schools participating in this programme are as follows; Rathregan National School, Portmarnock Community School, Scoil Iosagain Boys Senior Primary School, St. John of God Girls National School, St. Malachy's Boys National School, Scoil Chormaic CNS, Bracken Educate Together National School, Citywest Educate Together National School, St.Finians National School, Bremore ETSS, Our Lady of Victories Boys, Loreto Secondary School, Kilcoskan National School, St. Kevin's Girls National School, St. Michael's National School.