• UPDATED NOTICE: Badminton Ireland Annual General Meeting

    13/04/2019 GeneralUPDATED NOTICE: Badminton Ireland Annual General Meeting

    To all Branches, Clubs, Affiliated Bodies, Honorary Life Members and Past Presidents

    Badminton Ireland - Annual General Meeting (AGM) 2019

    (To be held at Irish Sport HQ, Dublin on Saturday 25th May 2019)


    Motions/Nominations for Badminton Ireland 2019 AGM

    The following motions have been submitted by the Board of Badminton Ireland:

    Motion 1 – Submitted by the Board of Badminton Ireland

    That Article 31 be amended as follows:

    84. A Club may become a Member only if it comprises of four (4) or more members with at least three (3) elected club officers (Club president or Club chairperson, and Club secretary and Club treasurer) together with a Club Safeguarding officer if the Club has a member or members below the age of eighteen (18) years


    The original article called for clubs to have at least eight (8) members, however, in order to support start-up/smaller clubs the board of Badminton Ireland felt the number should be reduced to accommodate said clubs. The original article also called for clubs that contained juveniles to appoint a Children’s officer. To ensure consistent language is used across the organisation, the Board have proposed changing this to Safeguarding officer.

    Nominations – Badminton Ireland President

    Betty Thompson has been nominated for the position of President by Munster Branch. The nomination for President being presented to the AGM is Betty Thompson.

    No other nominations have been received.


    (09/03/2019) Notice is hereby given that the AGM of the Badminton Union of Ireland Limited will be held at Irish Sport HQ, Dublin on Saturday 25th May 2019 at 11 am.

    The position of President is up for election at the forthcoming AGM.


    Nominations and proposed Motions are required to be received by the Badminton Ireland office no later than nine (9) weeks prior to the Annual General Meeting – by 5:30 pm on the 23rd March.


    Yours faithfully

    For and on behalf of

    Badminton Ireland



    David McGill
    Chief Executive
    Badminton Ireland






  • Ireland’s Golden Girls deliver again at the 2019 All England Seniors Masters

    09/04/2019 High PerformanceIreland’s Golden Girls deliver again at the 2019 All England Seniors Masters

    Hertfordshire Sports Village played host to the one hundred and third All England Seniors Maters last weekend read more....







  • Hp Round up March

    08/04/2019 High PerformanceHp Round up March

    Irish march into quarterfinals, last sixteen and bring home medals in March read more…..




  • Leinster sweeps the Juvenile Inter-Provincials whilst Ulster wins the Masters

    07/04/2019 EventsLeinster sweeps the Juvenile Inter-Provincials whilst Ulster wins the Masters

    Read below for an overview of each category

  • Shuttle Time School's Programme Shortlisted for Sports Industry Award 2019

    05/04/2019 GeneralShuttle Time School's Programme Shortlisted for Sports Industry Award 2019

    Badminton Ireland is delighted to have the Shuttle Time School's Programme shortlisted by the Federation of Irish Sport as 'Best Programme/Campaign to Increase Participation'. The Sports Industry Awards will be taking place in the Crowne Plaza Hotel on the 15th April where the Shuttle time Programme will be up against four other nominees for the award.

    For a full list of nominees in this and other categories, you can click on this link.

Latest News

High Performance

Sudirman Cup team announced

**UPDATE** The Irish team to represent Ireland at the 2019 Sudirman read more...



Read more »


Condolences to Marion and Ronan Rooney

Badminton Ireland is saddened to learn of the death of Gabriel Murray, Brother of Marion Rooney. On behalf of the Board and Staff of Badminton Ireland, and the badminton community in Ireland, we want to extend our sympathies and condolences to Marion and Ronan at this time.   

The funeral arrangements are as follows:

Reposing at Cunningham’s Funeral Home, Lucan, on Friday evening from 6.00pm to 8.00pm. Removal to the Church of St. Charles Borromeo, Confey on Saturday morning, arriving for Requiem Mass at 11.00am followed by burial in Confey Cemetery. 



TU Dublin City Campus take SSI/BI League Champions

The Technological University of Dublin City Campus were recently crowned the Student Sport Ireland / Badminton Ireland League Champions after a powerful display all day saw them take glory in Baldoyle Badminton Centre.

In a change to the final’s day format from previous years six teams took part in the cup finals on the day with the teams being split into two groups of three teams and they played off in a round robin style event.


Group A Group B
TU Dublin City Campus Dublin City University
TU Dublin Tallaght Campus IT Carlow
Dundalk IT Cork IT

In Group A TU Dublin City won both of their group games against TU Dublin Tallaght and Dundalk IT with scorelines of 4-1 to progress to the finals of the Student Sport Ireland / Badminton Ireland League Finals. The TU Dublin City team consisted of Ray Ma, Ellie Power, Rachael Darragh, David Barton, Oisin Dwyer, Laura Kinnerk and Mark Gannon. Meanwhile TU Dublin Tallaght secured second place in the group by defeating Dundalk IT 3-2, which took them through to the 3rd-4th place play-off. Dundalk qualified or the 5th-6th place play-off.

In Group B Cork IT progressed to the league finals after defeating DCU and IT Carlow. The Cork IT team included Andrew Dunlea, Aisling McAllister, James Lester, Claire Cahill and Cathal O’Donoghue. DCU finished second in the group and made it into the 3rd-4th place play off while IT Carlow moved to the 5th- 6th place play off.

Final – TU Dublin City Campus put in a dominant display in the cup final as they defeat Cork IT on a 3-0 score line. Ray Ma was a 22-20, 16-21, 21-17 winner over Andrew Dunlea in the Men’s Singles. The Women’s Singles saw Rachael Darragh defeat Aisling McAllister 21-7, 21-6, and the result was put to rest in the Mixed Doubles game as Laura Kinnerk and Mark Gannon powered to a 21-14, 21-11 win over Cathal O’Donoghue and Claire Cahill.

3rd-4th Place Play Off – TU Dublin Tallaght were the winners of the 3rd-4th place match over DCU as Paddy Martin was a 21-5, 21-12 winner over Melvin Cotoner in the Men’s Singles, Kate Frost blitzed Aine Madden 21-5, 21-4, while Jack Lawlor and Meloise Therrat were 21-15, 21-19 winners over Melvin Cotoner and Sebastian Delgado to seal a 3-0 win for TU Dublin Tallaght.

5th- 6th Play Off – Dundalk IT were 4-0 winners over IT Carlow in the 5th-6th place play off in the men’s singles Terence Ka defeated Gregory Chin 21-2, 21-11, Emma Thon defeated Ciara Worrell 21-8, 21-7 in the women’s singles. Terence Ka and Ben Tina were victorious in the men’s doubles defeated Gregory Chin and Nihal Shariff 21-18, 21-18. Emma Thon and Sikw Wri wrapped up a 4-0 victory with a 21-11, 21-14 win over Nihal Sahrriff and Marine Frebault.

Letterkenny IT were winners of the Tier 2 competition which effectively saw them finish 7th over all as they defeated IT Tralee in the final 3-2.

Upcoming events


Latest Videos